Your Oculus Purchases Will Be Lost If You Delete Your Facebook Account


Posted on November 1, 2020 by Nick Moreno

Listen to this Article:

It was in late August that Facebook revealed a rebranding for Oculus. While the firm will still title its products after the name of the company, the parent company gave it a new title: Facebook Reality Labs. And alongside learning the new name for Oculus, there were some other guidelines that will be required for future product owners as well.

Namely, that new users will be required to create a Facebook account starting this past October to use a Oculus device. Even more, pre-existing users are said to have a grace period to link a Facebook account until 2023. But ahead of that arriving, more is being revealed on the matters of this new initiative.

According to Twitter user @CixLiv who made the discovery, deleting your Facebook account will result in users losing their purchase history as well.

For the time being, this directly affects Oculus Quest 2 users as the headset launched following the move to enforce signing on with a Facebook account. Current Oculus Rift, Oculus Rift S, and Oculus Quest owner can delete their accounts with no penalty if not yet connected. But according to a statement made by Facebook Spokesperson, that will change leading forward.

“We’ll update existing users who choose not to log in with a Facebook account as we get closer to ending support for Oculus accounts in 2023,” the statement sent to UploadVR tells. Elsewhere in a report from Road to VR, the outlet approached Facebook on the matters of violating rules on the social media platform. Where Facebook responded that access to Oculus devices will be retracted if doing so. You can read the full report by heading here.

Do you have your Oculus headset linked to a Facebook account?

Source: UploadVR

Share Everywhere!